The proportion of women on the management boards of the 200 companies with the highest sales in Germany (excluding the financial sector) was just under 15% in the fourth quarter of 2021. A year earlier, the figure was 11.5 %. This is the result of a study by the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW) in Berlin. Every year, the institute examines the representation of women on management boards and executive boards as well as on supervisory and administrative boards of the largest companies in Germany. The results are published in the form of the DIW Women Managers Barometer. The figures published here were researched from November 28 to December 7, 2021, and are based on companies' self-reporting on the internet, the annual reports for 2020, the Federal Gazette, and inquiries made by DIW Berlin to the companies.

Remarkable increase in the proportion of women on management boards
The total number of female board members in the top 200 companies rose by 38 to 139. There has never been such a sharp increase within one year as in 2021 for this indicator since the start of data collection in the Women Managers Barometer in 2006. However, the number of board members in this group of companies has also increased overall as a result of board enlargements. In the top 100 companies, which have consistently had slightly higher proportions of women on their boards since 2016, this has also risen sharply to over 16% in late fall 2021 (the year before it was just under 14%).

There was also a very strong increase in the proportion of women among the CEOs compared with previous years: In the group of top 200 companies, this proportion doubled year-on-year to 8% in the fourth quarter of 2021 (14 women instead of seven a year earlier). In the top 100 companies, there was also a significant upturn, with almost 7% women as CEOs (up from just over 4% previously). This corresponds to six instead of four women leading one of the top 100 companies in Germany in the fourth quarter of 2021.

Particularly strong increase at DAX companies
The increase in the proportion of women was particularly strong at DAX companies. Among the DAX-40 companies, 17.5% of board members were women. If we consider only the companies that were represented in the leading German index up to the changeover (DAX-30), the ratio was even higher at just under 19%, representing an increase of a good four percentage points over the previous year.

Proportion of women on supervisory boards hardly increases
The proportion of women on supervisory boards remains significantly higher than on executive boards, but developed less dynamically last year. In the group of the top 200 companies, however, the 30 percent mark was broken for the first time. The proportion of women on the supervisory boards of these companies rose by half a percentage point to a good 30%. By contrast, there was stagnation on the supervisory boards of the top 100 companies: As in the previous year, the proportion of women there in late fall 2021 was just under 31%.

By contrast, the number of women as supervisory board chairs increased - albeit still at a low level: at the top 200 companies from eight in 2020 to ten in 2021, corresponding to just over 6% of all supervisory board chairs. At the top 100 companies, there were five more women and thus one more chair of the supervisory board year-on-year - the corresponding figure in the fourth quarter of 2021 was just under 6%.

Financial sector lags a little behind
The DIW also looks specifically at the proportion of women in banks and insurance companies. Here, too, there were strong increases in the proportion of women on management boards, but hardly any increases on supervisory boards. In the financial sector, the proportion of women on management boards is slightly lower than in the top 200 companies in other sectors of the private sector (where it is just under 15%). In late fall 2021, it was a good 13% in the financial sector. This represents a year-on-year increase of almost three percentage points.

The share of women in the 60 largest insurance companies also rose to over 13%, up from just under 12% in the fall of 2020.

Among the CEOs of the 100 largest banks in Q4 2021, however, there were eight women, two fewer than a year earlier, and the corresponding share of women fell from just over 10% to just over 8%. Insurance companies, on the other hand, saw a sharp increase: five women as CEOs (a good 8%) were more than twice as many as in the previous year (two women and a good 3% respectively).

Financial sector with 25% quota of women on supervisory boards
The proportion of women on supervisory boards in the financial sector increased moderately last year. In the 100 largest banks, it increased by around one percentage point to just under 25%, while in the 60 largest insurance companies it also increased by one percentage point to a good 25%. There was also an increase in the proportion of women among the supervisory board chairmen at the insurance companies, from just under 7% to 10% (six women instead of four). In the 100 largest banks, there were still seven women among the supervisory board chairmen, corresponding to a share of just over 7%.

Quelle: DIW Berlin

Proportion of women on management boards increases in all banking groups, on supervisory boards only in public-sector banks
A comparison of the individual bank groups shows that the private banks have by far the highest proportion of women on their boards, with over 17%, followed by the cooperative banks with 12% and the public-sector banks with around 11%. In all three banking groups, the proportion of female board members increased significantly compared with the previous year - in contrast to the number of women as board chairmen: at both the public-sector and cooperative banks, it remained the same at four women and one woman respectively. At the private banks, the number of women chairing the management boards in late fall 2021 was even lower than a year earlier, at three.

Statutory quota helps to increase the proportion of women
The results suggest that statutory quotas help more than non-binding recommendations or voluntary commitments. In Germany in 2015, as part of the first Act for the equal participation of women and men in management positions in the private and public sectors (FüPoG I), a binding gender quota of 30% for the Supervisory Board was adopted for companies that are both listed on the stock exchange and subject to equal co-determination.

In fall 2021, this applied to 103 companies. In the group of top 200 companies, a comparison of the companies to which the supervisory board quota applies and those to which it does not shows a significantly stronger increase in the proportion of women in the quota companies, particularly in the period from 2014 to 2019. In these years, the proportion of women in the companies subject to the supervisory board quota increased by almost 15 percentage points (from around 20% to more than 34%), while in the companies to which the supervisory board quota does not apply it only increased by a good seven percentage points, from just under 16% to just over 23%. In the last two years, this group has caught up somewhat, but the proportion of women still lags well behind that of the quota companies (35%), most recently at just over 27%.

Initially, there were no statutory requirements in Germany for management boards in the FüPoG I adopted in 2015. These were only introduced as part of the Second Act for the Equal Participation of Women and Men in management positions in the private and public sectors (FüPoG II), which came into force in August 2021 and applies to Executive Board appointments from August 2022.

Among other things, this law stipulates that companies which are listed on the stock exchange, are subject to equal codetermination, and have a management board of at least four members must fill the next vacancy on the management board with a woman if the management board does not already include a woman. In contrast to the gender quota for supervisory boards, which is set at 30% in FüPoG I, FüPoG II only provides for a minimum participation and no fixed quota for management boards. This is understandable, as management boards are much smaller bodies than supervisory boards.

In March, Fondsfrauen will again specifically discuss the proportion of women in management bodies of the capital management companies examine and publish the results here.

 

Corporate Partners

Der Frauenanteil in den Vorständen der 200 umsatzstärksten Unternehmen in Deutschland (ohne den Finanzsektor) lag im vierten Quartal des Jahres 2021 bei knapp 15 %. Ein Jahr zuvor waren es 11,5 %. Das ist das Ergebnis einer Untersuchung des Deutschen Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW) in Berlin. Das Institut untersucht jährlich die Repräsentation von Frauen in Vorständen und Geschäftsführungen sowie in Aufsichts- und Verwaltungsräten der größten Unternehmen in Deutschland. Die Ergebnisse werden in Form des DIW Managerinnen-Barometers veröffentlicht. Die hier veröffentlichten Zahlen wurden vom 28. November bis 7. Dezember 2021 recherchiert und beruhen auf den Selbstdarstellungen der Unternehmen im Internet, den Geschäftsberichten des Jahres 2020, dem Bundesanzeiger sowie auf Anfragen des DIW Berlin bei den Unternehmen.

Bemerkenswerter Anstieg beim Frauenanteil in Vorständen
Die Gesamtzahl der Vorständinnen in den Top-200-Unternehmen ist um 38 auf 139 gestiegen. Eine solch starke Steigerung innerhalb eines Jahres wie in 2021 gab es bei diesem Indikator seit Beginn der Datensammlung im Managerinnen-Barometer im Jahr 2006 noch nie. Allerdings hat sich durch Vorstandsvergrößerungen die Zahl der Vorstandsmitglieder in dieser Unternehmensgruppe insgesamt ebenfalls erhöht. In den Top-100-Unternehmen, die seit 2016 durchweg etwas höhere Frauenanteile in den Vorständen hatten, ist dieser ebenfalls stark gestiegen und lag im Spätherbst 2021 bei über 16% (im Jahr zuvor waren es knapp 14%).

Eine im Vergleich zu den vergangenen Jahren sehr starke Steigerung gab es auch beim Anteil von Frauen unter den Vorstandsvorsitzenden: In der Gruppe der Top-200-Unternehmen hat sich dieser Anteil im Vorjahresvergleich verdoppelt und lag im vierten Quartal 2021 bei 8% (14 Frauen statt sieben im Jahr zuvor). In den Top-100-Unternehmen ging es mit fast 7% Frauen als Vorstandsvorsitzenden (statt zuvor gut 4%) ebenfalls deutlich aufwärts. Das entspricht sechs statt vier Frauen, die im vierten Quartal 2021 eines der 100 umsatzstärksten Unternehmen in Deutschland führten.

Besonders starker Anstieg bei den DAX-Unternehmen
Besonders stark war der Anstieg des Frauen-Anteils bei den DAX-Unternehmen. Bei den DAX-40-Unternehmen waren Frauen in den Vorständen mit 17,5% vertreten. Betrachtet man nur die Unternehmen, die bis zur Umstellung im deutschen Leitindex vertreten waren (DAX-30), lag die Quote mit knapp 19% sogar noch höher und entspricht einer Steigerung um gut vier Prozentpunkte gegenüber dem Vorjahr.

Frauenanteil in Aufsichtsräten steigt kaum
In den Aufsichtsräten sind die Frauenanteile nach wie vor deutlich höher als in den Vorständen, entwickelten sich aber im vergangenen Jahr weniger dynamisch. In der Gruppe der Top-200-Unternehmen wurde gleichwohl erstmals die 30-Prozent-Marke geknackt. So stieg der Frauenanteil in den dortigen Aufsichtsräten um einen halben Prozentpunkt auf gut 30%. Stagnation herrschte hingegen in den Kontrollgremien der Top-100-Unternehmen: Wie im Jahr zuvor lag der Frauenanteil im Spätherbst 2021 dort bei knapp 31%.

Gestiegen ist hingegen die Zahl der Frauen als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende – wenn auch weiterhin auf niedrigem Niveau: bei den Top-200-Unternehmen von acht im Jahr 2020 auf zehn im Jahr 2021, was etwas mehr als 6% aller Aufsichtsratsvorsitze entspricht. Bei den Top-100-Unternehmen waren fünf Frauen und damit im Vorjahresvergleich eine mehr Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende – der entsprechende Anteil lag im vierten Quartal 2021 bei knapp 6%.

Finanzbranche hinkt etwas hinterher
Das DIW betrachtet auch speziell den Frauenanteil bei Banken und Versicherungen. Auch hier gab es starke Anstiege beim Frauenanteil in Vorständen, aber kaum Zuwächse in Aufsichtsräten. Dabei ist in der Finanzbranche der Frauenanteil in den Vorständen leicht niedriger als in den Top-200-Unternehmen der übrigen Sektoren der Privatwirtschaft (dort beträgt er knapp 15 %). Im Spätherbst 2021 betrug er in der Finanzbranche gut 13%. Dies entspricht einem Zuwachs von fast drei Prozentpunkten im Vergleich zum Vorjahr.

Auch bei den 60 größten Versicherungen stieg der Frauenanteil auf über 13%, ausgehend von knapp 12% im Herbst 2020.

Unter den Vorstandsvorsitzenden gab es in den 100 größten Banken in Q4 2021 mit acht Frauen jedoch zwei weniger als im Jahr zuvor, der entsprechende Frauenanteil sank von etwas mehr als 10 auf gut 8%. Bei den Versicherungen gab es hingegen einen starken Anstieg: fünf Frauen als Vorstandsvorsitzende (gut 8%) waren mehr als doppelt so viele wie im Jahr zuvor (zwei Frauen beziehungsweise gut 3%).

Finanzsektor mit 25% Frauenquote in den Aufsichtsräten
In den Aufsichtsräten des Finanzsektors sind die Frauenanteile im vergangenen Jahr moderat gestiegen. In den 100 größten Banken nahm er um etwa einen Prozentpunkt auf knapp 25% zu, in den 60 größten Versicherungen um ebenfalls einen Prozentpunkt auf gut 25%. Einen Anstieg gab es bei den Versicherungen auch beim Frauenanteil unter den Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden, von knapp 7% auf 10% (sechs Frauen statt vier). Bei den 100 größten Banken gab es weiterhin sieben Frauen unter den Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden, was einem Anteil von gut 7% entspricht.

Quelle: DIW Berlin

Frauenanteil in Vorständen steigt in allen Bankengruppen, in Aufsichtsräten nur bei öffentlich-rechtlichen Banken
Vergleicht man die einzelnen Bankengruppen untereinander, so zeigt sich, dass die Privatbanken mit über 17% den weitaus höchsten Frauenanteil in den Vorständen haben, gefolgt von den Genossenschaftsbanken mit 12% und den öffentlich-rechtlichen Banken mit rund 11%. In allen drei Bankengruppen stieg der Anteil der Vorständinnen gegenüber dem vorherigen Jahr deutlich – im Gegensatz zur Zahl der Frauen als Vorstandsvorsitzende: sowohl bei den öffentlich-rechtlichen als auch bei den Genossenschaftsbanken ist sie mit vier Frauen beziehungsweise einer Frau gleich geblieben. Bei den Privatbanken hatten im Spätherbst 2021 mit drei Frauen sogar zwei weniger einen Vorstandsvorsitz inne als ein Jahr zuvor.

Gesetzliche Quote hilft, den Frauenanteil zu erhöhen
Die Ergebnisse lassen den Schluss zu, dass gesetzliche Quoten mehr helfen als nicht verbindliche Empfehlungen oder freiwillige Selbstverpflichtungen. In Deutschland wurde im Jahr 2015 im Rahmen des ersten Gesetzes für die gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Frauen und Männern an Führungspositionen in der Privatwirtschaft und im öffentlichen Dienst (FüPoG I) eine verbindliche Geschlechterquote von 30% für den Aufsichtsrat beschlossen, und zwar für Unternehmen, die sowohl börsennotiert als auch paritätisch mitbestimmt sind.

Im Herbst 2021 traf dies auf 103 Unternehmen zu. Vergleicht man in der Gruppe der Top-200-Unternehmen die Unternehmen, für die die Quote im Aufsichtsrat gilt, mit den Unternehmen, für die sie nicht gilt, zeigt sich ein deutlich stärkerer Anstieg des Frauenanteils in den Quotenunternehmen, vor allem im Zeitraum von 2014 bis 2019. In diesen Jahren ist in den Unternehmen, die der Quote für den Aufsichtsrat unterliegen, der Frauenanteil um fast 15 Prozentpunkte gestiegen (von rund 20% auf mehr als 34%), während er in den Unternehmen, für die die Quote im Aufsichtsrat nicht gilt, nur um gut sieben Prozentpunkte gestiegen ist, von knapp 16% auf gut 23%. In den letzten beiden Jahren hat diese Gruppe zwar etwas aufgeholt, aber nach wie vor hinkt der Frauenanteil mit zuletzt etwas mehr als 27% deutlich hinter dem der Quotenunternehmen (35%) her.

Für die Vorstände gab es im 2015 beschlossenen FüPoG I zunächst keine gesetzlichen Vorgaben in Deutschland. Diese wurden erst im Rahmen des zweiten Gesetzes für die gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Frauen und Männern an Führungspositionen in der Privatwirtschaft und im öffentlichen Dienst (FüPoG II) beschlossen, das im August 2021 in Kraft getreten ist und für Vorstandsbestellungen ab dem August 2022 gilt.

Dieses Gesetz besagt unter anderem, dass Unternehmen, die börsennotiert und paritätisch mitbestimmt sind und einen mindestens vierköpfigen Vorstand haben, das nächste frei werdende Vorstandsmandat mit einer Frau besetzen müssen, sofern dem Vorstand noch keine Frau angehört. Im Unterschied zur Geschlechterquote für Aufsichtsräte, die im FüPoG I mit 30% festgesetzt ist, sieht das FüPoG II für die Vorstände nur eine Mindestbeteiligung und keine feste Quote vor. Diese Ausgestaltung ist nachvollziehbar, da Vorstände wesentlich kleinere Gremien sind als Aufsichtsräte.

Die Fondsfrauen werden Anfang März wieder speziell den Frauenanteil in den Führungsgremien der Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaften untersuchen und die Ergebnisse hier veröffentlichen.

 

Förderer