In mid-July 2021, the ECB decided to counter cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, Ether or Tether with its own digital euro. It would take two years to finalize the details, and this is to be followed by a test phase of around three years. According to ECB Director Fabio Panetta, the digital euro will therefore not exist before 2026.

Crypto stocks are developing rapidly
But the cryptocurrency train will not stop for a long time, because it has long since outgrown the haze of youngsters eager to experiment. Private and government initiatives are trying out their own digital currencies, and there is the possibility that large money circuits will emerge here apart from the central banks. After all, according to www.coinmarketcap.com, the capitalization of the global crypto market is currently $2.05 trillion, of which Bitcoin alone accounts for $809.6 billion and Ethereum $391.1 billion.

Legal infrastructure is created
In addition to the ECB, European legislators are also feeling their way towards crypto assets. After all, last year crypto assets were included as permissible financial instruments as well as crypto custodians in the German Banking Act (KWG). Coinbase Germany GmbH was subsequently the first company to be granted permission by BaFin to provide crypto custody services in Germany.

Things are also moving forward in the fund sector and the new version of §284 KAGB sets a milestone: the German Fund Act opens the investment universe for special AIFs to crypto stocks as well. Now special AIFs are allowed to invest up to 20% of their assets in crypto stocks.

Only 29% of crypto investors in Germany are female
But although the crypto world is developing rapidly, only around 29% of crypto investors in Germany are female; Coinbase's 2021 survey shows this. "To what this can be attributed is difficult to say. Probably a whole bundle of causes is responsible for it. From surveys, Coinbase knows that most users tend to be male and more likely to be under 45. In this respect, the crypto market is not very different from the stock market," says Sascha Rangoonwala, Country Manager Germany at Coinbase, and has a solution ready: "In order to address women more specifically, a combination of a targeted approach, the use of role models and innovative formats is probably helpful. The latter is relevant for all target groups. With its Earn program, Coinbase shows how this can be done."

Earn program offers low-threshold opportunity to get a taste of the crypto world
With its Earn program, Coinbase wants to bring cryptocurrencies closer to everyone and make access to them as easy as possible. "It is an exciting way for female investors and anyone else interested to approach the topic of cryptocurrencies in a playful way without any risk, and at the same time get real cryptocurrencies," the company shares in a press release.

Shoert videos and animations at https://www.coinbase.com/de/earn explain different cryptocurrencies and the projects behind them. In a subsequent quiz, Coinbase users can prove their newly acquired knowledge and receive coins in the respective cryptocurrency for correct answers. The earned cryptocurrencies are paid out directly afterwards and displayed in the portfolio in the Coinbase app or on Coinbase.com/en. The cryptocurrencies can then be held, exchanged for fiat money, transferred to another wallet or exchanged for other cryptocurrencies, for example.

According to Coinbase, more than €800 million in crypto has been distributed by Coinbase to learners since the program's launch in 2018.

Corporate Partners

Mitte Juli 2021 entschied die EZB, Kryptowährungen wie Bitcoin, Ether oder Tether einen eigenen digitalen Euro entgegenzusetzen. Zwei Jahre würde es dauern, bis die Details festgelegt sind, und daran soll sich eine rund dreijährige Testphase anschließen. Laut EZB-Direktor Fabio Panetta wird es den digitalen Euro also vor 2026 nicht geben.

Kryptowerte entwickeln sich rasant
Doch solange wird der Kryptowährungs-Zug nicht stehenbleiben, denn er ist längst dem Dunstkreis experimentierfreudiger Youngster entwachsen. Private und staatliche Initiativen probieren sich mit eigenen Digitalwährungen, und es besteht die Möglichkeit, dass hier große Geldkreisläufe abseits der Notenbanken entstehen. Immerhin beträgt die Kapitalisierung des globalen Kryptomarktes laut www.coinmarketcap.com derzeit 2,05 Billionen US-Dollar, von denen Bitcoin allein 809,6 Milliarden Dollar und Ethereum 391,1 Milliarden Dollar ausmachen.

Rechtliche Infrastruktur wird geschaffen
Neben der EZB tasten sich auch die europäischen Gesetzgeber an Kryptowerte heran. Immerhin wurden letztes Jahr Kryptowerte als zulässige Finanzinstrumente sowie Krypto-Verwahrstellen in das deutsche Kreditwesengesetz (KWG) aufgenommen. Coinbase Germany GmbH war anschließend das erste Unternehmen, das von der BaFin die Erlaubnis zum Erbringen des Kryptoverwahrgeschäfts in Deutschland erteilt wurde.

Auch im Fondsbereich geht es weiter und die neue Fassung des §284 KAGB setzt einen Meilenstein: Das deutsche Fondsgesetz öffnet das Anlageuniversum für Spezial-AIFs auch für Kryptowerte. Nun dürfen Spezial-AIFs bis zu 20% ihres Vermögens in Kryptowerte investieren.

Nur 29% der Krypto-Investoren in Deutschland sind weiblich
Doch obwohl sich die Kryptowelt rasant entwickelt, sind nur rund 29% der Krypto-Investoren in Deutschland weiblich; das zeigt die 2021 Umfrage von Coinbase. „Worauf sich das zurückführen lässt, ist schwer zu sagen. Wahrscheinlich ist ein ganzes Bündel an Ursachen dafür verantwortlich. Aus Umfragen weiß Coinbase, dass die meisten Nutzenden eher männlich und eher unter 45 Jahre alt sind. Insofern unterscheidet sich der Krypto-Markt nicht wesentlich vom Aktienmarkt“, sagt Sascha Rangoonwala, Country Manager Germany bei Coinbase und hat eine Lösung parat: „Um Frauen gezielter anzusprechen, ist vermutlich eine Kombination von gezielter Ansprache, Nutzung von Rollenvorbildern und innovativen Formaten hilfreich. Letzteres ist für alle Zielgruppen relevant. Coinbase zeigt mit seinem Earn Programm, wie das gehen kann“.

Earn Programm bietet niederschwellige Möglichkeit, in die Krypto-Welt zu schnuppern
Mit seinem Earn Programm will Coinbase allen Menschen Kryptowährungen näher bringen und den Zugang dazu so einfach wie möglich gestalten. „Es ist eine spannende Möglichkeit für Investorinnen und alle anderen Interessierten, sich spielerisch ohne Risiko dem Thema Kryptowährungen zu nähern und gleichzeitig echte Kryptowährungen zu bekommen“, teilt das Unternehmen in einer Pressemeldung mit.

Kurze Videos oder Animationen auf https://www.coinbase.com/de/earn erklären unterschiedliche Kryptowährungen und die Projekte dahinter. Bei einem anschließenden Quiz können die Coinbase Nutzenden ihr neu erlangtes Wissen unter Beweis stellen und bekommen für richtige Antworten Coins in der jeweiligen Kryptowährung. Die verdienten Kryptowährungen werden direkt im Anschluss ausbezahlt und im Portfolio in der Coinbase App oder auf Coinbase.com/de angezeigt. Die Kryptowährungen können dann beispielsweise gehalten, in Fiat-Geld umgetauscht, in ein anderes Wallet transferiert oder gegen andere Kryptowährungen getauscht werden.

Laut Angaben von Coinbase wurden seit dem Start des Programms im Jahr 2018 mehr als 800 Millionen Euro in Krypto von Coinbase an die Lernenden ausgeschüttet.

Förderer