The adjustments to MiFid II are currently the subject of heated debate. In principle, advisors will have to ask for sustainability preferences as of August, but according to current reports, some seem to be exempt from the regulations, at least for the time being. In our last Digital Lunch Talk on June 30, we examined and discussed the topic from various perspectives. As always in our Digital Lunch Talks, we wanted to deal with the topic in a practical way and therefore invited women from different areas.

Our panelists were:

  • Victoria Arnold, Institutional Sales Germany – BlackRock ETF & Index Investments and Local ESG-Representative
  • Jennifer Brockerhoff, Consultant for Sustainable Investment - Brockerhoff Finanzberatung
  • Dr. Sandra Derissen, Head of Sustainability Analysis SHC – avesco Sustainable Finance AG
  • Madeleine Sander, Member of the Board/ Mitglied des Vorstands bei HAUCK AUFHÄUSER LAMPE Privatbank AG

Protected Content

To continue reading you have to become a member of Fondsfrauen. Please log in or register as a new member.

The legal changes were examined and discussed from different perspectives. It was about the challenges for different stakeholders. On the one hand, advisors like Jennifer Brockerhoff are faced with the question of how to query sustainability preferences of their clients. On the other hand, according to Victoria Arnold, fund providers now have to bring their existing sustainability analyses together with regulatory requirements.

Jennifer Brockerhoff makes it clear right from the start that the consulting services will be greatly expanded from August. However, the consultants themselves do not yet know in detail what they will be facing from August and are therefore waiting for urgently needed information. When asked whether the ESG questionnaire is comprehensive enough for female consultants and how uniformly it must be applied, Jennifer Brockerhoff therefore says with a smile: "Ask me in four weeks.

Victoria Arnold agrees that the information available to date is very heterogeneous. This also poses new challenges for product providers, she adds. Arnold therefore hopes for further standardization in the near future. Madeleine Sander goes on to say that advisors are faced with the balancing act of asking customers' preferences in a way that complies with the rules on the one hand, while on the other hand remaining comprehensible to customers and not becoming too technical in their explanations. This would probably lead to somewhat more time-consuming consultations, especially in the beginning.

Jennifer Brockerhoff refers to the necessary preliminary work in consulting. Without this, it could be difficult to match customer preferences with appropriate products. Many customers want products that are as green as possible, and preferably impact-oriented. However, this often cannot be reconciled with reality. She therefore recommends that consultants talk openly with customers about regulations and options. Against this background, it is indispensable for consultants to deal with the topic of sustainability themselves.

The panelists agree that this is only the beginning of a major process of change. Therefore, the advice of all the panelists is to inform themselves in depth, to show courage and not to throw in the towel too quickly. Madeleine Sander holds: "Information is key!"

Corporate Partners

Die Anpassungen von MiFid II werden aktuell heiß diskutiert. Prinzipiell müssen Beraterinnen ab August Nachhaltigkeitspräferenzen abfragen, einige scheinen nach aktuellen Meldungen zumindest vorerst von den Regelungen befreit zu sein. In unserem letzten Digital Lunch Talk am 30.06. haben wir das Thema aus verschiedenen Perspektiven beleuchtet und diskutiert. Wie immer in unseren Digital Lunch Talks wollten wir das Thema praxisorientiert behandeln und haben dafür Frauen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen eingeladen.

Unsere Diskussionsteilnehmerinnen waren:

  • Victoria Arnold, Institutional Sales Germany – BlackRock ETF & Index Investments and Local ESG-Representative
  • Jennifer Brockerhoff, Fachberaterin für Nachhaltiges Investment – Brockerhoff Finanzberatung
  • Dr. Sandra Derissen, Head of Sustainability Analysis SHC – avesco Sustainable Finance AG
  • Madeleine Sander, Member of the Board/ Mitglied des Vorstands bei HAUCK AUFHÄUSER LAMPE Privatbank AG

Geschützter Inhalt

Zum Weiterlesen musst du Mitglied bei den Fondsfrauen sein. Bitte logge dich ein oder registriere dich als neues Mitglied.

Die rechtlichen Änderungen wurden aus verschiedenen Perspektiven beleuchtet und diskutiert. Es ging um die Herausforderungen für verschiedene Beteiligte. Auf der einen Seite stehen Beraterinnen wie Jennifer Brockerhoff vor der Frage, wie sie Nachhaltigkeitspräferenzen ihrer KundInnen abfragen. Auf der anderen Seite, so Victoria Arnold, müssen Fondsanbieter nun ihre bestehenden Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen mit der Regulatorik zusammenbringen.

Jennifer Brockerhoff macht gleich zu Anfang klar: Die Beratungsleistung wird sich ab August stark erweitern. Im Detail wissen die Beraterinnen aber selbst noch nicht, was ab August auf sie zukommen wird und warten entsprechend auf dringend benötigte Informationen. Auf die Frage, ob der ESG-Fragebogen für Beraterinnen umfassend genug ist und wie einheitlich er angewandt werden muss, sagt Jennifer Brockerhoff daher mit einem Lächeln: „Frag mich in vier Wochen“.

Die bisherigen Informationen, stimmt Victoria Arnold zu, seien sehr heterogen. Das stelle auch die Produktanbieter vor neue Herausforderungen. Arnold hofft daher auf weitere Standardisierungen in der näheren Zukunft. Madeleine Sander führt weiterhin an, dass Beraterinnen vor dem Spagat stehen, die Präferenzen der KundInnen einerseits regelkonform abzufragen, andererseits aber den KundInnen gegenüber verständlich bleiben und in den Erklärungen nicht zu technisch zu werden. Das würde gerade anfangs voraussichtlich auch zu etwas aufwendigeren Beratungsgesprächen führen.

Jennifer Brockerhoff verweist dabei auf notwendige Vorarbeit in der Beratung. Ohne diese könnte es schwer werden, Kundenpräferenzen mit entsprechenden Produkten abzustimmen. Viele KundInnen würden sich möglichst grüne, am besten wirkungsorientierte Produkte wünschen. Das sei häufig aber nicht mit der Realität in Einklang zu bringen. Sie empfiehlt BeraterInnen daher, mit KundInnen offen über Regulatorik und Möglichkeiten zu sprechen. Eine eigene Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit sei für Beraterinnen vor diesem Hintergrund unabdingbar.

Einig sind sich die Diskussionsteilnehmerinnen darüber, dass das erst der Anfang eines großen Wandlungsprozesses ist. Daher ist der Rat aller Diskussionsteilnehmerinnen, sich tiefgründig zu informieren, Courage zu zeigen und nicht zu schnell die Flinte ins Korn zu werfen. Madeleine Sander hält fest: „Information is key!“

Förderer