With its latest product, DWS emphasizes the social aspect of ESG: On January 17, 2022, the house launched a sustainably investing equity fund that focuses on female aspects.

Sustainable and social
The DWS Invest ESG Women for Women invests worldwide in companies that attach importance to environmental protection, good corporate governance and fair treatment of their employees. The factors of equal rights and opportunities, gender balance at management level, work-life balance and flexibility of the working environment are also included in the analysis.

All-female fund management
In addition, the new fund is managed exclusively by women and its focus is intended to specifically address the needs of women when selecting their investments. To select companies that perform well in terms of social values and fair working conditions, the 12-strong team of female fund managers led by Katharina Seiler, Valerie Schüler and Lilian Haag uses DWS's Social Commitment Score. This evaluates companies with a view to various social factors. "The shortlist for the fund includes both companies that are leaders in the "Social Commitment Score" and companies where the fund management perceives particularly great progress," says Katharina Seiler.

In addition, the companies undergo a classic fundamental analysis with a focus on the business model, management, growth and valuation. The fund managers of DWS Invest ESG Women for Women also focus on long-term investment trends such as digitalization, education, renewable energies, infrastructure, health, research and connectivity.

Social factors important for corporate success
With its focus on social factors, the new DWS fund addresses a topic that is increasingly coming to the fore when it comes to investing - not least as a result of the Covid 19 pandemic. "Social aspects are an increasingly important success factor for companies. They can have a positive effect on the productivity and profits of companies, which should also be reflected in a positive performance on the stock market in the long term," explains fund manager Valerie Schüler, pointing to history: over a five-year period, U.S. companies from the S&P 500 Index that are well positioned in terms of the "S factor" have performed better than the broad market.

DWS wants to pave the way for more women to enter the stock market
"With DWS Invest ESG Women for Women, we want to motivate women to take charge of their wealth accumulation - also in view of the looming pension gap in old age," says Lilian Haag. In contrast to men, women still have a lot of catching up to do when it comes to the capital market, explains the fund manager. Although around 80 percent of women already save regularly, only one in eight invests their money in the stock market.

Corporate Partners

Mit ihrem neuesten Produkt betont die DWS den sozialen Aspekt von ESG: Am 17. Januar 2022 hat das Haus einen nachhaltig anlegenden Aktienfonds aufgelegt, der weibliche Aspekte in den Vordergrund stellt.

Nachhaltig und sozial
Der DWS Invest ESG Women for Women investiert weltweit in Unternehmen, die Wert auf Umweltschutz, gute Unternehmensführung und eine faire Behandlung ihrer Mitarbeiter legen. Dabei fließen auch die Faktoren Gleichberechtigung und Chancengleichheit, ausgewogene Geschlechterverteilung auf Führungsebene, Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf und Flexibilität des Arbeitsumfelds mit in die Analyse ein.

Rein weibliches Fondsmanagement
Außerdem wird der neue Fonds ausschließlich von Frauen gemanagt und soll mit seiner Ausrichtung speziell auf die Bedürfnisse von Frauen bei der Auswahl ihrer Geldanlage abzielen. Zur Auswahl der Unternehmen, die mit Blick auf soziale Werte und faire Arbeitsbedingungen gut abschneiden, greift das 12-köpfige Fondsmanagerinnen-Team um Katharina Seiler, Valerie Schüler und Lilian Haag auf den so genannten „Social Commitment Score“ der DWS zurück. Dieser bewertet die Unternehmen mit Blick auf verschiedene soziale Faktoren. „In die engere Auswahl für den Fonds kommen sowohl Unternehmen, die im Rahmen des „Social Commitment Score“ führend sind als auch Unternehmen, bei denen das Fondsmanagement besonders große Fortschritte wahrnimmt“, so Katharina Seiler.

Daneben durchlaufen de Unternehmen auch eine klassische Fundamentalanalyse mit Fokus auf das Geschäftsmodell, das Management sowie auf die Themen Wachstum und Bewertung. Die Fondsmanagerinnen des DWS Invest ESG Women for Women setzen zudem auf langfristige Investmenttrends wie Digitalisierung, Bildung, Erneuerbare Energien, Infrastruktur, Gesundheit, Forschung und Konnektivität.

Soziale Faktoren wichtig für den Unternehmenserfolg
Der neue DWS-Fonds greift mit seinem Fokus auf soziale Faktoren ein Thema auf, das bei der Geldanlage immer stärker in den Vordergrund rückt – nicht zuletzt infolge der Covid-19-Pandemie. „Soziale Aspekte sind ein zunehmend wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor für Unternehmen. Sie können sich positiv auf die Produktivität und die Gewinne von Unternehmen auswirken, was sich langfristig auch in einer positiven Wertentwicklung am Aktienmarkt niederschlagen dürfte“, erklärt Fondsmanagerin Valerie Schüler und verweist auf die Historie: Über einen Betrachtungszeitraum von fünf Jahren haben in puncto „S-Faktor“ gut aufgestellte US-Unternehmen aus dem S&P 500 Index besser abgeschnitten als der breite Markt.

DWS will mehr Frauen den Weg an den Aktienmarkt ebnen
„Mit dem DWS Invest ESG Women for Women möchten wir Frauen motivieren, ihren Vermögensaufbau in die Hand zu nehmen – auch im Hinblick auf die drohende Rentenlücke im Alter“, so Lilian Haag. In puncto Kapitalmarkt hätten Frauen im Gegensatz zu Männern noch immer erheblichen Nachholbedarf, erklärt die Fondsmanagerin. Obwohl rund 80 % der Frauen bereits regelmäßig sparen, investiere bislang nur jede achte Frau ihr Geld am Aktienmarkt.

Förderer