Flüchtlingshilfe Ukraine von Fondsfrauen
Bitte spende auch du: UNO Flüchtlingshilfe Ukraine

We welcome Comgest as a new supporter of the Fund Women. This international asset manager, headquartered in Paris, has its focus on equity investments. Comgest is considered particularly independent because the company is 100% owned by its staff and founders. We talk to Silke Masuda about what diversity, especially the advancement of women, means to the company and how it is integrated into the corporate culture. Silke Masuda is Team Leader Marketing & Investor Services at Comgest Germany and a member of the Comgest Diversity & Inclusion Working Group.

So that we can get a picture of Comgest: Briefly describe your company and its service?
Silke Masuda: Comgest is an international investment boutique in developed and emerging market equities. It is 100% owned by its employees and founders. This solid partnership, which has been in place for over 35 years, is the foundation of our quality growth approach. With offices in Europe, Asia Pacific and North America, Comgest manages over 40 billion euros in assets (as of December 31, 2021) and serves investors around the globe seeking equity investment with a long-term focus.

Of the approximately 200 employees worldwide (around 50% female), 10 currently work for the sales unit based in Düsseldorf. Here, we look after large institutional and corporate customers as well as distribution networks ("wholesale business") in Germany and Austria in all matters relating to their fund investments.

With your commitment as a supporter of the Fund Women, you are making a clear commitment to gender diversity. What does that mean for your company in concrete terms?
Silke Masuda: Comgest's founders conceived of our collaborative partnership in a work environment where colleagues have the autonomy and freedom to express themselves, contribute and develop their potential.

As we all know, our founders resisted the idea of hierarchies. They wanted to create a very flat and entrepreneurial organizational structure where everyone, as a group of co-owners, enjoys contributing, debating, and challenging themselves, across all teams and areas of the company, regardless of age, gender, ethnicity, disability, LGBT+, or other directly visible or invisible characteristics.

It often starts with gender diversity - but this is where it begins for us: At Comgest, everyone also brings their own story, their own experiences. The different skills and perspectives complement each other and enrich the decision-making process.

How does this help your business?
Masuda
: We think that diversity and difference is something valuable in itself. We think this leads to better results, because it can make the decision-making process more difficult and we have to consider our options better. Thus, diversity also has a direct impact on the success of our investment decisions.

How do you integrate the advancement of women in your company across all areas, and with what measures?
MasudaAs part of our Diversity & Inclusion Working Group, we are constantly reviewing and revising our processes, starting from the very beginning: How can we increase the relatively low quota of female applicants and inspire them to join Asset Management and Comgest?

Within the existing global Comgest team, we strive to ensure fair treatment and equal opportunities for all. More than 30 nationalities are represented among our approximately 200 employees, with a gender balance of almost 50:50. The flat hierarchies described and our partnership-based approach are therefore a lived reality.

So we can proudly announce: According to the Citywire Alpha Female Report 2021, the industry average is 11.8% female portfolio managers. At Comgest, we reach an above-average 29%. Eva Fornadi (European Equities), Laure Négiar (Global Equities) and Chantana Ward (Japanese Equities), as three female portfolio managers awarded "Best Performer" by Citywire, are very good examples here.

You said that you want to increase the relatively low quota of female applicants and inspire women to join asset management and Comgest. How are you targeting women? Have you changed the wording in your job advertisements to do this? Or what else?
Masuda
: We are continuously working on this and are naturally guided by best practices. As part of our internal development, we would like to raise awareness of this aspect and, for example, encourage our team members to be even more conscious and "diverse" in bringing interns on board - and to engage regularly with schoolchildren and first-year students. Enthusiasm for finance and asset management can be awakened at a very early age, and direct guidance from passionate experts can be inspiring for these students.

To this end, we would like to focus specifically on formats such as trade fairs, university initiatives and online platforms that are (or could be) targeted at graduates or those interested in "Female Finance".

Thank you very much for the interview!

Corporate Partners

Wir begrüßen Comgest als neuen Unterstützer der Fondsfrauen. Dieser internationale Asset Manager mit Hauptsitz in Paris hat seinen Fokus auf Aktien-Investments. Comgest gilt als besonders unabhängig, weil das Unternehmen zu 100% im Besitz seiner Belegschaft und der Gründer ist. Wir sprechen mit Silke Masuda darüber, was Diversität, vor allem Frauenförderung, für das Unternehmen bedeutet und wie sie in die Firmenkultur intergiert wird. Silke Masuda ist Teamleader Marketing & Investor Services bei Comgest Deutschland und Mitglied der Comgest Diversity & Inclusion Working Group.

Damit wir uns ein Bild von Comgest machen können: Beschreiben Sie kurz Ihr Unternehmen und ihre Dienstleistung?
Silke Masuda: Comgest ist eine internationale Investmentboutique für Aktien der Industrie- und Schwellenländer. Sie ist zu 100% im Besitz der Mitarbeiter/innen und Firmengründer. Diese seit über 35 Jahren bestehende solide Partnerschaft ist die Basis unseres Qualitätswachstumsansatzes. Mit Büros in Europa, Asien/Pazifik und Nordamerika verwaltet Comgest ein Vermögen von über 40 Milliarden Euro (per 31. Dezember 2021) und betreut Anleger rund um den Globus, die ein auf Langfristigkeit abzielendes Aktieninvestment anstreben.

Von den weltweit rund 200 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern (zu ca. 50 % weiblich) arbeiten aktuell 10 für die in Düsseldorf ansässige Vertriebseinheit. Hier betreuen wir für Deutschland und Österreich große Institutionelle und Corporate-Kunden sowie Vertriebsnetzwerke („Wholesale Business“) in allen Fragen rund um ihre Fonds-Investments.

Mit Ihrem Engagement als Unterstützer bei den Fondsfrauen geben Sie ein klares Bekenntnis für Gender Diversity ab. Was bedeutet das für Ihr Haus konkret?
Silke Masuda: Die Gründer von Comgest haben unsere partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit in einem Arbeitsumfeld konzipiert, in dem die Kolleginnen und Kollegen die Autonomie und Freiheit haben, sich auszudrücken, sich einzubringen und ihr Potenzial zu entfalten.

Bekanntermaßen widerstrebte unseren Gründern die Idee von Hierarchien. Sie wollten eine sehr flache und unternehmerische Organisationsstruktur schaffen, in der sich jede(r) als eine Gruppe von Miteigentümerinnen und Miteigentümern gerne einbringt, debattiert und sich herausfordert, über alle Teams und Bereiche des Unternehmens hinweg, unabhängig von Alter, Geschlecht, ethnischer Zugehörigkeit, Behinderung, LGBT+ oder anderen direkt sichtbaren oder unsichtbaren Merkmalen.

Mit Gender Diversity fängt es oft an – hier geht es für uns jedoch erst los: Bei Comgest bringt auch jede(r) seine eigene Geschichte, seine eigenen Erfahrungen mit. Die unterschiedlichen Fähigkeiten und Sichtweisen ergänzen sich und bereichern so die Entscheidungsfindung.

Was bringt das für Ihr Unternehmen?
Masuda
: Wir denken, dass die Vielfalt und Unterschiedlichkeit an sich ist etwas Wertvolles ist. Dies führt unserer Meinung nach zu besseren Ergebnissen, weil der Entscheidungsprozess dadurch schwieriger sein kann und wir unsere Optionen besser prüfen müssen. Somit wirkt sich Vielfalt auch direkt auf den Erfolg unserer Investmententscheidungen aus.

Wie integrieren Sie die Frauenförderung in Ihrem Unternehmen über alle Bereiche, und mit welchen Maßnahmen?
Masuda: Im Rahmen unseres Diversity & Inclusion Working Group überdenken und überarbeiten wir stetig unsere Prozesse und fangen dabei ganz vorne an: Wie können wir die relativ geringe Quote weiblicher Bewerberinnen erhöhen und sie für das Asset Management und Comgest begeistern?

Innerhalb des bestehenden globalen Comgest-Teams bemühen wir uns um eine faire Behandlung und Chancengleichheit für alle. Unter unseren rund 200 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sind mehr als 30 Nationalitäten vertreten, wobei die Geschlechterverteilung nahezu 50:50 ist. Die beschriebenen flachen Hierarchien und unser partnerschaftlicher Ansatz sind also gelebte Realität.

So können wir stolz verkünden: Laut des Citywire Alpha Female Report 2021 sind im Branchendurchschnitt 11,8% der Portfoliomanager weiblich. Bei Comgest erreichen wir überdurchschnittliche 29%. Eva Fornadi (Europäische Aktien), Laure Négiar (Globale Aktien) und Chantana Ward (Japanische Aktien), als drei von Citywire als „Best Performer“ ausgezeichnete Portfoliomanagerinnen, sind hier sehr gute Beispiele.

Sie sagten, dass Sie die relativ geringe Quote weiblicher Bewerberinnen erhöhen und Frauen für das Asset Management und Comgest begeistern wollen. Wie sprechen Sie gezielt Frauen an? Haben Sie dazu die Formulierungen in Ihren Job-Ausschreibungen verändert? Oder was noch?
Masuda
: Wir arbeiten kontinuierlich daran und orientieren uns dabei natürlich an Best Practices. Im Rahmen unserer internen Entwicklung möchten wir das Bewusstsein für diesen Aspekt schärfen und beispielsweise unsere Teammitglieder ermutigen, noch bewusster und „vielfältiger“ Praktikanten an Bord zu holen – und regelmäßig mit Schülern und Studienanfängern in Kontakt zu treten. Die Begeisterung für Finanzen und das Asset Management kann sehr früh geweckt werden, und die direkte Anleitung durch passionierte Expertinnen und Experten kann für diese Schüler inspirierend sein.

Dazu möchten wir uns gezielt auf Formate wie Messen, Hochschulinitiativen und Online-Plattformen konzentrieren, die sich gezielt an Absolventen oder an „Female Finance“ Interessierte richten (könnten).

Vielen Dank für das Interview!

Förderer